Committee Leadership Details

Louisa Burns Osteopathic Research Committee

Committee Description

The Louisa Burns Osteopathic Research Committee (LBORC) focuses on clinical research involving health care outcomes in the practice of osteopathic manipulative medicine. The committee strives to develop, foster and support acceptable standards for the collection of clinical data related to osteopathic manipulative medicine and its effect on health and disease.

The Research Poster Competition subcommittee sponsors a research poster competition at each AAO Convocation. They encourage submissions, review poster abstracts, judge the poster presentations and provide feedback to further develop the members’ interests. These presentations are open to AAO members, specifically to students and residents to encourage their interest in clinical research.

The Research Training Conference Subcommittee works to develop training sessions to be provided at the Academy’s programs with the goals of providing research information to members and identifying research opportunities and organizations that support research.

The Research Grant subcommittee assist Academy members with consultation services in developing research protocols and grant proposals. The subcommittee reviews and recommends Academy funding for clinical research projects and monitors those research projects currently funded by the AAO.

Committee members have been and continue to be leaders in expanding research within the osteopathic medical profession and encouraging collaboration between clinicians and basic scientists. The group serves as the AAO's liaison to the AOA Bureau of Osteopathic Clinical Education and Research (BOCER). Committee members have participated in the Osteopathic Collaborative Clinical Trials Initiative Conferences (OCCTIC), helped to create the Osteopathic Research Center (ORC) at the University of North Texas Health Science Center - Texas College of Osteopathic Medicine, create and deliver research workshops at the AOA Convention and AAO Convocation; and constantly strive to develop training for physicians who wish to participate in Osteopathic Manipulative Treatment research.

For more information, email

Committee Leadership
 1 to 20 of 32 Records - Total 2 PagesPage: 2 
Michael A. Seffinger, DO, FAAFP, C-SPOMM
Pomona, CA
United States

Janice Upton Blumer, DO, FAAO

Lebanon, OR
United States

Jeffrey M. Brodovsky, DO

Cleveland, OH
United States

R. Todd Dombroski, DO, C-SPOMM

Fort Worth, TX
United States

Teri Lynn Hammer, DO, C-NMM/OMM

Grosse Pointe Woods, MI
United States

Lisa Hodge, PhD

Fort Worth, TX
United States

Angelique C. Mizera, DO, C-NMM/OMM

Chicago, IL
United States

Kenneth E. Nelson, DO, FAAO, FACOFPdist, C-SPOMM

Midwestern University/Chicago College of Osteopathic Medicine
Downers Grove, IL
United States

Clarence L. Nicodemus, PhD, DO, C-NMM/OMM

Monterey, CA
United States

Glenn Nordehn, DO

Las Cruces, NM
United States

Michael M. Patterson, PhD

Plantation, FL
United States

Sonia Rivera-Martinez, DO, FACOFP

Mineola, NY
United States

Hallie J. Robbins, DO, ABPMR

Integral Rehabilitation, LLC
Salt Lake City, UT
United States

Dr. Deborah Schmidt, DO, C-NMM/OMM

Lewisburg, WV
United States

Karen T. Snider, DO, FAAO, C-NMM/OMM

Assistant dean for osteopathic principles and practice integration
Kirksville, MO
United States

Beth N. Thompson, DO, C-NMM/OMM

Oak Tree Osteopathy
San Diego, CA
United States

Martin E. Torrents, DO, MPH, C-NMM/OMM

Monroe, NY
United States

Katherine A. Worden, DO, MS, C-NMM/OMM

Glendale, AZ
United States

David P. Yens, PhD

Touro COM - Middletown, NYCOMEC
Huntington Bay, NY
United States

Brian F. Degenhardt, DO, C-NMM/OMM
(Sub-committee Chairperson for taskforces)
Ridgway, CO
United States