OESPA Awards

OESPA sponsors the National Distinguished Principal (NDP) Award each year, which honors middle school principals and elementary principals.  For members wishing to nominate a colleague, please follow the following guidelines:

National Distinguished Principal

The process for this award begins in January. 

  • The nominee must be an active middle school principal and/or elementary principal, and a current member of NAESP and OESPA. 
  • Get the application form here.
  • For the first round of judging, nominees should complete all parts of the application with only one letter of recognition minus the essay questions.
  • Please mail applications (minus essay questions), with only one letter of recommendation from immediate supervisor to COSA by March 11, 2014. 
  • The OESPA awards committee will select the winner, and that person will then complete the essay questions.  The completed packet will then be mailed to NAESP in April.
  • The winner will be honored at the Annual COSA Conference, and the OASSA/OESPA Conference the following fall.
  • Please direct questions to Sara Nilles: sara@oasc.org

Congratulations to Erika Guynes, Earl Boyles Elementary, David Douglas SD, 2013 OESPA Principal of the Year!

Past recipients of the Oregon NDP award include:

2012     Lizi Aguilar-Nelson, Richmond Elementary, Salem-Keizer SD
2009     Bruce Reynolds, Bend-LaPine
2008     Anita Harris, Gresham-Barlow
2007     Sara Johnson, McMinnville
2005     Pat Echanis, Hood River (elementary school)
             Beth Madison, Portland (middle school)
2004     Vaness Bunker, Tigard-Tualatin
2003     Dawn Smith, Warm Springs (elementary school)
             Carol Kemhus, Oregon City (middle school)
2002     Lynn Lahey, Corvallis
2001     Phil Meager, Medford (elementary school)
              Robert Dais, Hood River (middle school)
2000     Juanita Fagan, Williams
1999     Robert Goerke, Medford
1998     Candace Beck, Portland
1997     Stanley Paine, Springfield
1996     Marion Morehouse, Bend
1995     Victoria Jenkins, Coos Bay
1994     William Jones, White City
1993     Nancy Hays, West Linn
1992     Richard Adair, Burns
1991     Fred Merten, Bethel
1990     Wayne Snoozy, Klamath Falls
1989     Doug Mahurin, Hood River
1988     Herb Ekstrom, Bend
1987     Marilee Fitzpatrick Albany
1986     Ted Hinds, North Clackamas
1985     Gary Salyers, North Clackamas