Conference Awards



National Corporate Champion of the Year Award

Each year, CWLA designates one outstanding member of corporate America for its National Corporate Champion of the Year Award. This company is selected for its exceptional, unparalleled commitment to children, youth, and families as demonstrated through its willingness to engage in partnerships and activities with organizations that benefit children, families, and communities and its sustained patterned of charitable giving that supports children's issues.


American Honda Motor Company, Inc.

Nominated by Robert F. Kennedy Children's Action Corps, Boston, MA


A special thank you to American Honda Motor Company, Inc. for their generous $25,000 contribution to CWLA.  Honda’s acknowledgement and support of our work is greatly appreciated.



Anna Quindlen Awards for Excellence in Journalism on Behalf of Children and Families

CWLA established the Anna Quindlen Awards for Excellence in Journalism on Behalf of Children and Families to recognize individuals in the field of journalism whose coverage of child welfare issues advances knowledge and understanding of the state of vulnerable children and families in America. Separate awards are presented for print/online and broadcast work.  The 2013 awardees covered relevant issues during the preceding 12 months and, as a result of their work, produced positive change for children and families.


For Broadcast

Sanda Htyte and Danielle MTK

Radio Rookies, WNYC Radio

“American Heaven”


For Print

Christy Gutowski and Bill Ruthhart

Chicago Tribune

“Children at Risk” Series



Dr. Alexander Gralnick Award

The Gralnick Award was established to recognize exemplary work in research on, treatment of, or advocacy for children and adolescents with schizophrenia.  This award is given every two years.  Alexander Gralnick, who died in 1993, was the Medical Director of High Point Hospital in Port Chester, New York, and a prominent member of the American Psychiatric Association. Throughout his life, he demonstrated an unwavering commitment to the mental health needs of children and adolescents, in particular those with schizophrenia.


Michel Maziade, M.D., FRCP(C) C.Q.

Centre de recherche Institut Universitaire en Santé Mentale de Québec

Québec, Canada



Member Awards

CWLA recognizes the exemplary commitment, outstanding leadership, and innovative services of its membership which result in positive outcomes for children and families.


David Roth Leadership Award

Donna Pressma

The Children’s Home Society of New Jersey


CWLA Service Award

Jeremy Kohomban

The Children’s Village, Dobbs Ferry, NY


Special Recognition Awards

Sally Douglass, Jessie Ball duPont Fund

Renette Oklewicz, Freddie Mac Foundation


View Gala Dinner Awards Photos



Congressional Advocate of the Year Awards


Congressman Dave Camp

Representing Michigan’s 4th District

CWLA honors Representative Dave Camp for his outstanding contribution to the enactment of the Protect Our Kids Act and the important leadership he provides on children’s issues as Chairman of the influential Ways and Means Committee.


Congressman Lloyd Doggett

Representing Texas’ 35th District

CWLA honors Representative Doggett for his determination and commitment to children in pushing for the Protect Our Kids Act and his vision and resolve on child welfare issues in his role as Ranking Member on the Human Resources Subcommittee of Ways and Means.


Congressman Tom Marino

Representing Pennsylvania’s 10th District

CWLA honors Representative Tom Marino for his strong support and leadership in enacting the Uninterrupted Scholars Act and for his passion for children as co-chairman and one of the founders of the Congressional Caucus on Foster Youth.


View Advocacy Day Awards Photos



Community Partnership Awards

CWLA is pleased to acknowledge the good work of individuals and organizations that work in partnership with our members to advance the safety, permanence and well-being of children.


Child Welfare Organizing Project, New York, NY

Nominated by The Children’s Village, Dobbs Ferry, NY


Mental Health Connection of Tarrant County, Fort Worth, TX

Nominated by the Lena Pope Home, Inc., Fort Worth, TX


Bishop Aaron Blake, Co-Founder and Executive Director of Harvest Family Life Ministry,Brownwood, TX

Nominated by Texas Department of Family and Protective Services, Austin, TX


Frederick County Circuit Court, Frederick, MD; Legal Aid Bureau, Inc., Frederick, MD; Catoctin Forest Alliance, Thurmont, MD; and Bar-T Mountainside Challenge and Retreat Center, Gaithersburg, MD

Nominated by Frederick County Department of Social Services, Frederick, MD


Paul DiLorenzo, Senior Director and Casey Family Programs, Seattle, WA

Nominated by Family Support Services of North Florida, Inc. Jacksonville, FL and

Maryland Department of Human Resources, Baltimore, MD


Anne Linnen, Community Volunteer, Chicago, IL

Nominated by Maryville Academy, Des Plaines, IL


View Community Partnership Awards Photos