Hospitality Awards Luncheon

22nd Annual IHLA Hospitality Awards Luncheon   
In Conjunction with the National Restaurant Association, Restaurant, Hotel-Motel Show
Tuesday, May 23, 2017
McCormick Place South | Level 4 | Vista Ballroom
2301 S. King Dr. | Chicago, IL 60616
11:00am Reception | 12:00pm Luncheon

Honoring the Recipient of the IHLA J. Patrick Leahy Lifetime Achievement Award
Albert M. Friedman, Chairman & CEO, Friedman Properties

And the Recipients of the Ambassador of Hospitality Awards

  • Paul Daly, General Manager, Hyatt Regency O’Hare | | Area Vice President, Hyatt Hotels Corporation
  • Ginny Morrison, Vice President of Sales & Marketing, Spire Hospitality
  • Nabil Moubayed, General Manager, The Kimpton Gray Hotel | Area Director of Operations Midwest, Kimpton Hotels & Restaurants
  • Tom Robertson, General Manager, Chicago Marriott Downtown Magnificent Mile

Master of Ceremonies: Steve Dolinsky, ABC 7 Chicago's Food Reporter, "The Hungry Hound”, Co-Producer & Host of The Feed Podcast, International Food Correspondent, & James Beard Award Winning Journalist

Tickets: Ticket price includes NRA Show badge valid Saturday, May 20 – Tuesday, May 23, 2017.


IHLA hosts the Annual Hospitality Awards Luncheon at McCormick Place each May in Conjunction with the Annual National Restaurant Association Restaurant, Hotel-Motel Show. The event honors outstanding hospitality professionals.
IHLA is proud to give out its most prestigious awards to deserving recipients who have made significant contributions to the hospitality industry in Illinois. The Association is always pleased to induct a new class of influential leaders into the legacy of honorees who have greatly impacted the industry. 
Each year, the Award Selection Committee determines who has influenced the hotel industry in Illinois and continues to advocate for the greater good for the hotel community and those it serves. The honorees are typically very active in advocacy, associate engagement, and support of IHLA's missions.  
The J. Patrick Leahy Lifetime Achievement Award
The J. Patrick Leahy Lifetime Achievement Award is given annually by the Illinois Hotel & Lodging Association to an individual who has had a successful career of high achievement, a lifelong commitment to the hotel industry, and who has made significant contributions to the hospitality industry in Illinois.
The recipient of this Award is chosen each year by the Award Selection Committee and submitted to IHLA’s Board of Directors for final approval. The Award was first given in 2003, and the first recipient was J. Patrick Leahy, Executive Vice President of American Hotel Register, headquartered in Vernon Hills, Illinois.
Pat Leahy spent his entire life serving the hotel industry, and he epitomized the word “hospitality.” Pat contributed greatly to the hospitality industry in Illinois by serving on IHLA’s Board of Directors for more than 20 years and co-chairing the Association’s Annual Hospitality Gala for 19 years. Pat was also a founding member of IHLA’s Educational Foundation Board of Directors. During his 20-year tenure, he helped the Foundation award hundreds of thousands of dollars in scholarships to deserving Illinois students pursuing hospitality management degrees.
On September 28, 2007, Pat passed away after a long, courageous battle with cancer. The following month, IHLA’s Board of Directors voted unanimously to rename the Lifetime Achievement Award in honor of Pat. IHLA is proud to have its highest award for Lifetime Achievement named in honor of its first recipient, J. Patrick Leahy.
For questions about this event, please contact:
Jennifer Chase            
Managing Director, Events | 312-346-3135 x222