National Association for Pupil Transportation National Association for Pupil Transportation NAPT Home

To view NAPT Hall of Fame Information

Larson Quality Award

The Leland E.G. Larson Quality Student Transportation Program is a sequence of comprehensive activities that has been designed to serve as an assessment tool that pupil transportation professionals nationwide can use to document and measure existing quality and, at the same time, identify areas for improvement.

The program is the brainchild of school bus industry icon Leland E.G. Larson, the former owner and President of the Gresham, OR-based School Bus Services, Inc., who gave NAPT $50,000 to develop his concept. Larson, who has long been known as one of the industry's most innovative thinkers, wanted to foster creativity, recognize quality and reward innovation in student transportation by making a commitment to quality transportation even after he sold his company in 1996. "The Larson family provided top-notch school bus transportation for over 60 years", said Larson. "The Quality Transportation Program concept will continue that legacy by recognizing and rewarding school districts and companies that are committed to improving the quality of their school transportation services." The program, which was developed to shine light on operators that provide high quality customer service in safety centered operations, consists of three distinct phases:


NAPT Distinguished Service Award

The NAPT Distinguished Service Award was established to recognize an individual who has performed exemplary service on behalf of NAPT at state and/or national levels. This award recognizes that one person each year, who exemplifies principles of high caliber leadership, that will insure the pupil transportation industry's reputation for safe, responsible, and economical service to our passengers.



Continuing Education Award sponsored by Thomas Built Buses®

The Continuing Education Award was created to help further the education of an NAPT member in the field of public school transportation


Heroism Award sponsored by Blue Bird Corporation

The Heroism Award is intended to recognize appropriate acts of heroism demonstrated in the school transportation industry. Those eligible for nomination include any person who is either directly or indirectly involved with saving a life or lives.


School Bus Driver Training & Safety Award sponsored by IC Corporation

The School Bus Driver Training & Safety Award was created to enhance school bus driver training by recognizing school districts/companies who have exemplary driver-training programs.


Special Needs Transportation Award sponsored by Sure-Lok

This award was established to give special recognition to an outstanding individual specifically involved in the direct delivery of service in the area of special needs transportation.


Share |


    The National Association for Pupil Transportation (NAPT), together with supporting sponsors, is proud to offer an annual awards program to individuals and operators responsible for the safe transport of school children. What follows is a brief description of the awards that are presented at the Annual Conference each year.

    NAPT History

Founded in 1977, the National Association for Pupil Transportation (NAPT) is a 501 (c) (6) nonprofit organization that supports a $10.5 billion industry of over 450,000 people who transport more than 24 million children every school day. NAPT members receive timely information through cutting-edge educational programs, unique research, and thought-provoking communications in a variety of electronic and hard-copy formats that enable members to develop practical solutions to today’s school transportation, educational administration and other business-related challenges.

NAPT is the school transportation industry’s largest and most diverse membership organization with members throughout the United States and Canada, as well as several countries in Europe, Asia and the Middle East. NAPT is headquartered in Albany, NY.