701 Lee Street, Suite 680

Des Plaines, IL 60016-4508

info@urisa.org

Impact of Proposed Revisions to NENA's Civic

Nov 19, 2020 02:00pm -
Nov 19, 2020 03:00pm
(GMT-6)

Event Description

The National Emergency Number Association (NENA) has requested public comment on proposed revisions to its Civic Location Data Exchange Standard (CLDXF). CLDXF defines how address data is to be structured for exchange within NG9-1-1 systems. If you compile or manage address data, and especially if you provide address data to 9-1-1 operations, you will want to review this draft standard!
 
Webinar hosted by URISA will feature NENA Working group members (Ed Wells, Christian Jacqz and others) discussing the intricate details of the proposed changes. 
 
When: Thursday,  November 19 at 3pm eastern/2pm central/1pm mountain/12noon pacific. 
 
Impact of Proposed Revisions. The proposed revisions would make one major change to CLDXF v1. CLDXFv1 defines landmark names (also called points-of-interest in many CAD software packages), and five subaddress elements (building, floor, unit, room, seat, and "additional location information").  The proposed CLDXFv2 would eliminate the landmark- subaddress distinction and replace it with a single eleven- category hierarchy: Site, subsite, structure, wing, floor, unit, room, section, row, seat, and "additional location information" (a catchall category for anything that does not fit in the other ten). All landmark names and subaddress identifiers would have to be placed into one of the eleven categories before they could be entered into a CLDXF exchange record.   
 

Event Type:Webinar
Early registration ends on Nov 11, 2020.
Regular registration starts on Nov 12, 2020 and ends on Nov 18, 2020.
Late registration starts on Nov 19, 2020.
(GMT-06:00) Central Time (US & Canada)