Join Membership
Sleep Medicine Journal
About WASM
Online Store
Membership Information
Congress 2015 - Korea
Education Programs
World Sleep Day
Associate Society Membership
In Memory
Contact Information
 Facebook Facebook



1. Executive Council Committee:

President: Luigi Ferini-Strambi

President Elect: Charles Morin

Past President: Richard Allen

Secretary: Carlos H. Schenck

Treasurer: Thomas Penzel

2. Governing Council Committee:

Chair: Luigi Ferini-Strambi

Committee: Richard Allen, Luigi Ferini-Strambi, Seung Chul Hong, Suresh Kumar, Shahira Loza, Charles Morin, Sona Nevsimalov, Daniel KK Ng, Judith Owens, Carlos H. Schenck, Markus Schmidt, John Swieca, Robert Thomas, Liborio Parrino, Thomas Penzel, Patricio Peirano, Dalva Poyares, Javier Puertas

3. World Sleep Day ® Committee:

Co-Chair: Antonio Culebras
Co-Chair: Liborio Parrino

Committee Members: Richard Allen (USA), Oliviero Bruni (Italy), Teresa Canet (Spain), Sudhansu Chokroverty (USA), Wang Fang (China), Christian Guilleminault (USA), Max Hirshiwitz (USA), Jun Kohyama (Japan), Suresh Kumar (India), Jodi Mindell (USA), Garima Shukla (India), Robert Thomas (USA), Claudia Trenkwalder (Germany), J. Catesby Ware (USA), Phyllis Zee (USA)

Purpose: World Sleep Day® is an annual event, intended to be a celebration of sleep and a call to action on important issues related to sleep, including medicine, education, and social aspects.


Current projects or previous discussions: World Sleep Day 2015/World Sleep Day 2016

4. Education Committee:

Chair: Max Hirshkowitz

Co-Chair: Birgit Hogl, Sharon Keenan

Purpose: To provide an overview of educational projects to support by WASM. Main function is to provide review of the program and courses of the world congress. In addition, the committee will help other educational functions and assist other committees in educational content and matters.

Current projects or previous discussions:2015 Congress in Korea and 2013 Congress in Valencia.

5. Bylaws Committee:

Chair: Christian Guilleminault

Purpose: To maintain and update WASM's bylaws as needed. The committee shall provide guidance to the Governing Council for procedural matters to ensure the bylaws are being followed.

Current projects or previous discussions: none.

6. Membership Committee:

Chair: Luigi Ferini-Strambi

Co-Chair: Claudia Trenkwalder

Purpose: To process and review applications for membership into WASM. And, the development of membership benefits for individuals and societies.

Current projects and discussions:

· Review of individual membership application process and transitioning to new membership database on website

· Society Membership application process

· Individual and Society Membership benefits

7. Scientific Affairs Committee

Co-Chair: Sonia Ancoli-Israel

Co-Chair: Kingman Strohl

Purpose: To help develop scientific programs of WASM. Responsibilities include the review of scientific content of the world congress programs. To read the proposals of symposiums and abstracts submitted to the world congress. The committee will develop scientific guidelines for research worldwide emphasizing the basic clinical aspects of sleep.

Current projects or previous discussions: Quebec 2011 congress scientific review.

8. Nominating Committee

Chair: Sudhansu Chokroverty

Purpose: To recruit WASM officers and prepare bi-annual ballot.

Current projects or previous discussions: none

9. Awards Committee

Chair: Antonio Culebras

Co-Chair: Manvir Bhatia

Purpose: To administer and present the Elio Lugaresi Award for Sleep Medicine and Christian Guilleminault Award for Sleep research.

Current projects or previous discussions: develop guidelines and timelines to present awards at Valencia 2013 congress.

10. Publication Committee

Chair: Christian Guilleminault

Purpose: To provide WASM with an affiliated journal and liaison with Sleep Medicine

Current projects or previous discussions: WASM general information booklet


Privacy Policy | Terms and Use 
© Copyright 2008-2010 World Association of Sleep Medicine.  All Rights Reserved.

Copyright Abila Inc 2015