Site Map
Press Room
Get the Foundation eNews!
Frequently Asked Questions (FAQs)
About Us
Our Sponsors
Board of Trustees (BOT)
Appraisal Practices Board (APB)
Appraisal Standards Board (ASB)
Appraiser Qualifications Board (AQB)
Advisory Councils
Become an Appraiser
Consumer Resources
Events/Meeting Registration
Education Programs
Exposure Drafts
Business Valuation Resources
Foundation Store/Order Books
Organization Directory
USPAP (Standards)
USPAP Instructors
State/Territory Regulatory Info
Free Brochures
Request a Speaker
Real Property Appraiser Qualification Criteria

Under the provisions of Title XI of the Financial Institutions Reform, Recovery, and Enforcement Act of 1989 (FIRREA), the Appraiser Qualifications Board(AQB) establishes the minimum education, experience, and examination requirements for real property appraisers to obtain a state license or certification.

State appraiser regulatory agencies are required to implement real property appraiser licensing and certification requirements that are no less stringent than those issued by the AQB in the Real Property Appraiser Qualification Criteria (Criteria).

The original Criteria, adopted by the AQB in March 1991, included the following real property appraiser classifications: Licensed Residential, Certified Residential, and Certified General. The Trainee Appraiser classification was later adopted by the AQB in 1993.

After public exposure, the AQB adopted revisions to the Criteria in early 1994 for implementation in January 1998. The changes included increases in education and experience hours, as well as a requirement for individuals to take the 15-Hour National Uniform Standards of Professional Appraisal Practice (USPAP) Course (or its equivalent) to become an appraiser.

Again, after thorough public exposure, the AQB adopted significant revisions to the Criteria in early 2004 for implementation in January 2008. Major revisions included an increase in the educational hours, as well as the introduction of a Required Core Curriculum for each classification.  In addition, college-level education for the Certified Residential and Certified General classifications was required for the first time.

The current Criteria include Interpretations and Guide Notes. Interpretations further clarify the Criteria and are binding requirements. Guide Notes are intended to guide the state appraiser regulatory agencies with enforcing the Criteria, and are not binding requirements.

At its December 2011 Public Meeting, the AQB adopted changes to the Real Property Appraiser Qualification Criteria that became effective January 1, 2015. A link to the Criteria as well as a summary of the changes can be found below.




About Us Regulatory Info USPAP Education For the Public Site Tools

What's New
Board of Trustees
Appraisers Qualifications Board
Appraisal Standards Board
Advisory Councils
Frequently Asked Questions

State Regulatory Agencies
State Regulatory Info
Government Regulators
Appraisal Subcommittee
Appraisal Complaint
National Registry
Title XI

AQB Certified Instructor Program
Course Approval Program
Equivalent 2010-11 USPAP Distance Education Courses
Info for Education Providers
Student Appraiser Guide
National Exams
What is USPAP

Request a Speaker
Exposure Drafts
White Papers
Foundation Store

Contact US
Site Registration
My Account
Upload Files

Copyright 2010, The Appraisal Foundation 1155 15th Street NW, Suite 1111, Washington, DC 20005
Phone: 202-347-7722, Fax: 202-347-7727, Web:

Copyright Abila Inc 2015