NASL Article Details

Press Release

NASL Elects New Board & Celebrates Member of the Year at 30th Annual Meeting

NASL, 10/22/2019

NASL issued a press release on Tuesday, October 22, 2019, announcing the election of the NASL Board of Directors for 2019 – 2020 and celebrating NASL’s Member of the Year.

NASL Elects New Board & Celebrates Member of the Year at 30th Annual Meeting
NASL Board Reflects Diversity of Membership & Complexity of Issues Ahead

Washington, DC – The National Association for the Support of Long Term Care (NASL) elected a new slate of officers and directors for the association’s Board of Directors last week during the NASL 30th Annual Meeting in Orlando, Florida. Aegis Therapies President & CEO Martha Schram was elected by the NASL Board of Directors for another year as the association’s president.

The NASL Board reflects the diversity of the full membership, which ranges from providers – rehabilitation companies that collectively employ more than 300,000 individuals, including speech-language pathologists (SLPs), physical therapists (PTs), occupational therapists (OTs) and other provider groups that care for hundreds of thousands of patients – to health information technology (health IT) developers; suppliers of nursing and therapy products and equipment; and clinical laboratories, portable x-ray and diagnostic testing services that serve the long term and post-acute care (LTPAC) sector. This diversity is part of NASL’s strength in dealing with complex issues and why the association has earned a solid reputation among policymakers as an honest broker of health policy.

NASL’s new officers elected by the Board of Directors are:

  • President – Martha Schram, President & CEO of Aegis Therapies;
  • Secretary – Tara Roberts, Vice President of Rehabilitation & Wound Care Services of Nexion Health Management;
  • Treasurer – Martha Shaker, President of Concept Rehab, Inc.;
  • Vice President & Medical Services Committee Chair – Mike Capstick, Executive Vice President of Select Rehabilitation;
  • Vice President & Information Technology Committee Chair – Hannah Patterson, Director of Product Management for Netsmart;
  • Vice President & Diagnostic Testing Committee Chair – Chris Martin, President of American Health Associates; and
  • Immediate Past President – John Damgaard, CEO of MatrixCare

The NASL membership elected new Board members and re-elected others who continue their service on the NASL Board of Directors, including:

  • Judy Elmore, Vice President, Ancillary Services of AFFIRMA Rehabilitation;
  • Jane Moffett, Chief Product Officer for Casamba;
  • Jolynn Munro, Division President of Infinity Rehab;
  • Yolunda Dockett, Corporate Compliance Officer for Lorien Health Services;
  • Natalie Hooper, COO of Rehab Pro;
  • Laura Franco, Vice President, Director of Post-Acute Regulatory Strategy at Life Care Services; and
  • Alan Swenson, Vice President of Interoperability at Kno2.

These newly elected officers and board members join current board members including: Debbie Koepsel, ACP; ​Cheryl Strickland, Choice Rehabilitation; Tracy Fritts, Consonus Healthcare Services; Shawn Halcsik, Encore Rehabilitation Services; Dustin Freas, Flagship Rehabilitation; Traci McCullough, Functional Pathways; Jerrod Murphy, Gamma Healthcare; Lou Ann Soika, Genesis Rehab Services; DeLaine Rice-White, HCR ManorCare; Hilary Forman, HealthPRO​​-Heritage; Michelle Moore-Andrews, Integra Rehabilitation; Glenda Mack, Kindred Healthcare/ RehabCare; Jaime Stoffer, Medline Industries; Cathy de Verteuil, Optima Healthcare Solutions; ​​Mindy Lankenau, Paragon Rehabilitation; Genice Hornberger, PointClickCare; Ryan Beddingfield, PruittHealth; David Tate, Reliant Rehabilitation; Laura Dennis, Restore Therapy Services; Mike Capstick, Select Rehabilitation; Emily Briggs, Senior Rehab Solutions; Christine Busby, Signature Rehab; Linda Kolleng, Symbria, Inc.; and Robert Latz, Trinity Rehab Services.

NASL Board members are thought leaders in ancillary care and services for the long term and post-acute care (LTPAC) sector. “NASL is fortunate to have a Board of Directors that understands how times of transition bring new conversations and new opportunities. Every one of our Board members is focused on improving care and the patient’s experience – whether in the delivery of rehabilitative care or the systems and services that support quality patient care,” remarked Aegis Therapies President & CEO Martha Schram. “NASL has made tremendous strides in partnering with Congress and federal government agencies to impact the policies that are shaping this sector. I am honored to serve as president of this outstanding Board as we embrace these new challenges and find the efficiencies needed to improve care now and into the future,” concluded Schram.

The association also recognized NASL’s Member of the Year, Doc DeVore, who is the Director of Enterprise Interoperability for MatrixCare. In presenting the award, NASL Board President Martha Schram shared his nomination, which reads in part, “Doc’s unwavering commitment to enhance post-acute care through the work he does in interoperability and technology is unsurpassed.” His energy, intelligence, unselfishness, ever friendly demeanor and commitment towards the greater good is unmatched across the industry. The NASL member nominating Doc also noted, “…I have the privilege of working with many great people from various EHR vendor organizations. All of them are wonderful and hard-working; however, Doc stands out heads above any and is moving the needle forward every day. [He is an] amazing person deserving of this recognition.” NASL congratulates Doc DeVore, NASL’s Member of the Year.