701 Lee Street, Suite 680

Des Plaines, IL 60016-4508

info@urisa.org

GIS for Government: Answering the Big Questions Webinar

May 29, 2019 02:00pm -
May 29, 2019 03:00pm
(GMT-5)

Event Description

GIS for Government: Answering the Big Questions
Wednesday, May 29, 2019
2 PM Eastern/1 PM Central/12 Noon Mountain/11 AM Pacific 

Whether you are a decision maker trying to determine how GIS can bring value to your community, or a practitioner that already uses GIS to support community services, you may be seeking answers to important questions that will guide how you leverage GIS now and in the future. For example, what are the boundaries between data privacy and the public good? How can GIS be effectively leveraged alongside other technological advancements including social media, open data or IoT? Are there differences in how GIS is applied in support small communities vs large metropolitan areas, regions or states? Is the effort to develop and maintain GIS capability worth the cost?

GIS technology is used to support a vast array of government services including economic development, property and infrastructure management, disaster response and social services. GIS is also increasingly being used by governments to support the collection and sharing of information with constituents such as home and business owners.

At 2:00 pm Eastern on May 29, URISA is hosting a special opportunity for GIS practitioners and decision makers to hear from and interact with a panel of experienced decision makers and GIS managers that can speak to each of these questions and more. This event is free, but registration is limited so sign up early! 


Event Type:Webinar
Category:Webinar
Early registration ends on Apr 24, 2019.
Regular registration starts on Apr 25, 2019 and ends on May 28, 2019.
Late registration starts on May 29, 2019.
(GMT-05:00) Eastern Time (US & Canada)