State Recognition of the CPRP

The CPRP credential is recognized in twelve states in the US by regulations defining and/or qualifying mental health practitioners: Arizona, Florida, Georgia, Hawaii, Illinois, Iowa, Louisiana, Maine, Minnesota, New York, Pennsylvania, and Virginia. Similar legislation is in progress in several others.


Summary of State Recognition of the CPRP Certification

Download 2009 State CPRP Regulations (PDF) for more information.


Virginia (August 2000) 

Links the CPRP to the definitions for Qualified Mental Health Professionals.


Pennsylvania (February 2001) 

The State Psychiatric Rehabilitation licensing regulations link the CPRP to staff qualifications required for reimbursement for psychiatric rehabilitation services under Medicaid (e.g., at least 25% of all staff within each psychiatric rehabilitation program must be certified through USPRA as psychiatric rehabilitation practitioners within a two-year timeframe of program start-up).


Hawaii (Oct 2002)

Requires that the Head of Service for a psychiatric rehabilitation program be credentialed as a CPRP and strongly encourages that other staff attain CPRP status.


Georgia (Nov 2002)

Includes the CPRP in the qualifications for staff providing Peer Support for Adults and Psychiatric Rehabilitation Services.


Illinois (Nov 2002)

Recognizes the CPRP as fulfilling the training requirements for psychiatric rehabilitation practitioners.


Maine (Dec 2002)

Links the CPRP to the definitions for Qualified Mental Health Professionals.


New York (Written into PROS 2002; PROS enacted 2006) 

Has implemented a new Medicaid option called Personalized Recovery- Oriented Services (PROS). Recognition of the CPRP is related to the definition of professional staff: “For the purpose of calculating professional staff ratios, a provider may include staff credentialed by the International US Psychiatric Rehabilitation Association (USPRA) for up to 20 percent of the professional staffing requirements.”


Minnesota (June 2003)

The state’s definition of mental health professionals includes a person who is qualified under section 245.462, subdivision 18, clause (6), and who holds a current and valid national certification as a certified rehabilitation counselor or certified psychiatric rehabilitation practitioner.


Arizona (April 2005)

Practitioners holding the CPRP can be recognized as Behavioral Health Technicians and could be individually privileged to conduct assessments and/or serve as a clinical liaison.


Louisiana (Summer 2005) 

Supervisors of psychiatric rehabilitation programs must be certified by USPRA or be eligible for certification with a written plan for achieving certification within 12 months of state accreditation.


Florida (October 2005)

Individuals delivering psychosocial rehabilitation services to Medicaid recipients may be the United States Psychiatric Rehabilitation Association as a Certified Psychiatric Rehabilitation Practitioner.


Iowa (Winter 2006)

Recognizes the CPRP as fulfilling the qualifications for staff providing Intensive Psychiatric Rehabilitation Services.


New Jersey (Nov 6, 2006)

The CPRP may substitute for a bachelor’s degree in a human services field or an associate’s degree and two years of experience providing human services, or five years of human services experience.


Maryland (July 2007)

The CPRP serves as an approved criteria for psychiatric rehabilitation specialists.


Idaho (June 2009)

Persons who are working as PSR Specialists delivering Medicaid-reimbursable mental health services may continue to do so until January 1, 2012, at which time they must be certified as PSR Specialists in accordance with USPRA requirements.