NASW-VA Committees

NASW-VA supports and advances the interests of individual social workers and the social work profession through a number of committees and special interest groups.

If you would like to join a committee or special interest group, we want to hear from you. For more information, please contact the chapter office at (804)204.1339 or via email at




Accreditation Committee
The Accreditation Committee’s mission is to authorize/certify vendors offering educational opportunities to NASW-VA members.

Professional Development Committee
The mission of the Education Committee is to develop and implement continuing education programs, including the Annual Conference, designed to meet the professional and educational needs of the membership.

Legislative Committee
The primary responsibility of this committee is to develop a social agenda for the Chapter. The committee addresses legislative and regulatory issues that impact the profession of social work. The committee makes recommendations to the Board on pertinent issues and develops and recommends positions and strategies for pursuing these issues. The committee is also charged with keeping the membership informed about public policy issues that affect them as professional social workers.

Membership/Marketing Committee
The membership committee is responsible for the development and implementation of membership recruitment plans.

Nominations and Leadership Identification Committee
This Committee (NLIC) is charged with identifying members to serve in state leadership positions. The committee works closely with local districts to develop a leadership roster. Members are elected for 2-year term.

Student Advisory Committee
The Student Advisory committee is a forum for student members to voice their wants and needs to NASW-VA.

Virginia PACE
Virginia—PACE is the Chapter’s political action committee for electoral politics. VA—PACE helps to elect and keep in office candidates who support the goals and objectives of the social work profession. Committee members are appointed by the Board President and serve a 2-year term.

Workforce Capacity Taskforce