MSA Scholarships

Scholarships for Minnesota Law Enforcement Students

Enforcement of the law in a democratic society is a complex task. The ability of a peace officer to render effective service responsive to the public’s need depends heavily upon job knowledge and skills. The Minnesota Sheriffs’ Association recognizes the importance of pre-entry training to the accomplishment of these requisites. It also recognizes that some candidates need outside help in meeting the costs of such training, as well as, those candidates who excel academically.



The Minnesota Sheriffs’ Association (MSA) has established a scholarship fund for the awarding of up to 15- $600 scholarships for this year. These scholarships are due to the coordinated efforts of the 87 Sheriffs of the State of Minnesota and our Exhibitor Sustaining Scholarship Members.



CLICK HERE for the 2018 MSA Scholarship Application


CLICK HERE for the 2018 MSA Policy & Procedure Scholarship Information.


Members of the Minnesota Sheriffs’ Association give recognition to the lack of financial assistance available to students. Scholarship are only available to students currently enrolled in one of the following three categories:

1) Mandated POST skills program
2) In the second year of a two-year law enforcement program
3) In the third or fourth year of a four-year college criminal justice course


The 2017 MSA Scholarship Recipients include:

Nikolaus Bredehoft - Winona, Minnesota

Eian Denton - Alexandria, Minnesota

Brady Houle - Merrifield, Minnesota

Carolyn Jacobson - Jackson, Minnesota

Kelsey Lloyd - Raymond, Minnesota

Michael Lyscio - Baxter, Minnesota

Molly Martinson - Duluth, Minnesota

Brice Okocha - St. Paul, Minnesota

Samuel Ortman - Chanhassen, Minnesota

Tyler Savaloja - Northfield, Minnesota

Shannon Seibel - Laporte, Minnesota

Dylan Westerbur - Luverne, Minnesota


Thank you for your support of the MSA Scholarship Program

2017 Sustaining Scholarship Members


Advanced Correctional Healthcare



BKV Group Architects & Engineers

Computer Information Systems

Contegrity Group, Inc.

Dick Buss & Associates LLC

Emergency Automotive Technologies

Gary L. Fischler & Associates P.A.

Independent Emergency Services

Keeprs, Inc.

Klein McCarthy Architects

Law Enforcement Technology Group

Life Link III

Loffler Companies, Inc.

MacTek Systems Inc

Mend Correctional Care, LLC

Midwest Monitoring & Surveillance

MN Adult & Teen Challenge

Motorola Solutions Inc.

National Child Safety Council

National Joint Powers Association

North Memorial Medical Center – Air Care

Northland Business Systems

Reliance Telephone

Securus Technology

Summit Foodservice

The Blue Pages

Thrifty White

Turnkey Corrections

Visual Labs

Watchguard Video

Wenzel Financial Services

Wold Architects & Engineers

Zuercher Technologies