TRIAD

Minnesota Triad

 

 

Triad is a partnership of 3 organizations -

Law Enforcement, Senior Citizens and Community Groups

 

“Keeping Seniors Safe”

 

The main purpose of Triad is to promote Senior Safety and to reduce the fear of crime that seniors often experience.

 

Communities Educating Seniors About Crime

 

 

  E-mail Contact:  mntriad@hotmail.com    

  Phone Contact:  218-536-0899 (Pauline Fahey, Secretary)

  MN TRIAD Newsletter:  Send e-mail to mntriad@hotmail.com

  to receive Quarterly newsletter by e-mail

  Website:  Search MN Sheriffs' Association and click on “Sheriffs in the Community” then “TRIAD”

  Current TRIAD Information & Pictures:   www.facebook.com/mntriad

 

                Triad...     Is about educating Older Adults about Safety

                                Is organized by County or City Law Enforcement

                                Is a State and National Organization

 

 

About Triad

 

Triad has benefits for both seniors and law enforcement.  Law Enforcement assists seniors by letting them get to know their local law enforcement and bringing them information to protect them and that they can share with others in their communities.   Seniors assist law enforcement by being “the eyes and ears” out in the communities.

 

Crimes targeting older adults are different in that victims are sought out because of perceived vulnerabilities.  Working together, Triad volunteers develop and implement crime prevention and education programs for older adults.

 

Triad is not an acronym; it simply represents a group of three.  Triad's goal at its inception, as now, is to reduce crime against the elderly, and to reduce the fear of crime that seniors often experience.  To achieve this goal, Triad promotes and facilitates ongoing information exchange between law enforcement, community groups/senior providers and the older adults they serve.

 

Ideas from the elderly, as well as their time and efforts as volunteers, are vital to Triad success.  S.A.L.T. (Seniors and Law Enforcement Working Together) members, working with experienced capable volunteers, create effective solutions for many problems faced by the elderly.

 

An Annual State Triad Conference is held each fall.  One of the most important parts of the State Conference is the Best Practices session, which allows counties to share what they are doing to enhance senior safety in their counties and for other counties to learn new ideas... networking and collaboration!  Another important benefit is developing the relationships between senior citizens, senior providers and law enforcement throughout the state.

 

Triad was formed in 1988 when American Association of Retired Persons (AARP), International Association of Chiefs of Police (IACP) and the National Sheriffs' Association (NSA) came together in an attempt to define a way to help keep seniors safe from crime.

 

 

Triad Officers

 

President:             Kelly Lake (Carlton County Sheriff)               kelly.lake@co.carlton.mn.us          

Vice President:      John Nicholson (Springfield Police Chief)          john.nicholson@springfieldmn.org

Secretary:             Pauline Fahey (Cass County Sheriff's Office)  paulinefaheycc@gmail.com          

Treasurer:             Evan Verbrugge (Rock County Sheriff)           evan.verbrugge@co.rock.mn.us  

 

 

Interested in Starting a Program?

 

MN Triad can assist you in organizing your Triad program at the grass-roots level.  They can provide ideas and programs to implement in your communities to enhance senior safety.    You can contact any of the MN Triad Officers for more information.  MN Triad Secretary Pauline Fahey can e-mail you Triad information and answer any questions you may have.

 

MN Triad File of Life

Medical Information Program

The MN TRIAD File of Life Medical Information program enables emergency responders to obtain a quick and accurate medical history when a patient is unable to offer one. 

Click here for the MED Program Information Sheet.

Click here for the MED Program Handout

 
   

 

Minnesota Triad Counties

 

Currently, we have 32 Triad programs in Minnesota.  We are well on our way to having Triad in all 87 counties!   Triad is a partnership between Law Enforcement, Seniors and Community Groups.   The involvement of Law Enforcement, Seniors and those who work with older adults is essential to creating a successful Triad program. 

 

We would like to take this opportunity to thank the Sheriffs and Police Chiefs that support Triad in their counties and cities.   A Triad program cannot exist without the support of our Law Enforcement leaders.  THANK YOU!!

 

County

Contact Person

Phone #

E-mail

Aitkin

Myron Ekstrand

218-752-1111

mekstrand@frontier.com

Anoka

Angela Kruyer

763-784-2501

akruyer@clpdmn.com

Becker

Todd Glander

218-847-2661

tgland@co.becker.mn.us

Beltrami

Christopher Muller or

Tabitha Carrigan

218-333-8386

218-333-8309

Chris.muller@co.beltrami.mn.us

tcarrigan@ci.emidji.mn.us

Blue Earth/Mankato

Chris Boyer

507-625-4141

701@nmpd.org

Brown

Julie Duehring

 

jadlaser@newulmtel.net

Carlton

Kelly Lake

218-384-3236

Kelly.lake@co.carlton.mn.us

Carver

Dave Williams

952-361-1206

dwilliams@co.carver.mn.us

Cass

Pauline Fahey

218-536-0899

paulinefaheycc@co.cass.mn.us

Clay

Bill Bergquist

218-299-5151

Bill.bergquist@co.clay.mn.us

Crow Wing

Tina elder or

Haley Gottsch

218-829-4749

Tina.elder@crowwing.us

haley.gottsch@crowwing.us

Dakota

Tim Leslie

651-438-4700

Tim.leslie@co.dakota.mn.us

Douglas

Mary Krueger

320-762-3047

maryk@co.douglas.mn.us

Goodhue

Rosie Schluter

507-263-3893

spiritsong@citlink.net

Hennepin/Champlin

Roger Boatman

612-419-3094

rogerboatman@comcast.net

Isanti

Lisa Lovering

763-691-2411

Lisa.lovering@sheriff.co.isanti.mn.us

Itasca

Vic Williams

218-326-3477

Vic.williams@co.itasca.mn.us

 

 

 

 

Kanabec

Brian Smith

 

Brian.smith@co.kanabec.mn.us

Kandiyohi

Greg Stehn

 

3302@co.kandiyohi.mn.us

Olmsted/Rochester

Darrel Hildebrant

507-328-6890

dhildebrant@rochestermn.gov

Otter Tail

Brian Schlueter

 

bschluet@co.ottertail.mn.us

Polk

Paul Biermaier

218-281-3111

pbiermaier@crookston.mn.us

Pope

Tim Riley

 

Tim.riley@co.pope.mn.us

Ramsey/W.B.L.

Julie Spreck

651-429-2779

swissjulie@usa.com

Renville

Scott Hable

 

scott_h@co.renville.mn.us

Rock

Evan Verbrugge

507-283-5000

Evan.verbrugge@co.rock.mn.us

Scott

Kenneth Dvorak

952-496-8722

kdvorak@co.scott.mn.us

Sherburne

Roxanne Schreder

763-765-3579

Roxanne.schreder@co.sherburne.mn.us

Stearns -Sartell

Jim Hughes

320-251-8186

jim@sartellmn.us

Stearns -Waite Park

Alicia Mages

320-251-7393

Alicia.mages@ci.waiteparkpd.mn.us

Traverse

Trevor Wright

320-422-7707

Trevor.wright@co.traverse.mn.us

Wright

Brian Johnson

763-684-2366

Brianm.johnson@co.wright.mn.us

 

Triad Conferences

 

There is a State Conference hosted by and held in various counties throughout Minnesota every year.  The State Conferences provide an opportunity to network with other Triad programs throughout the state.  The conferences also include Triad 101 and a Minnesota Triad Meeting (one of two held each year). 

 

The conferences offer an opportunity to learn from speakers and presenters regarding senior safety issues, as well as from each other. 

 

The State Conference is held each fall (end of September/beginning of October) and lasts 2-3 days, depending on the hosting county's preference.

 

2018 MN Triad Conference

 

October 2-3, 2018

Arrowwood Lodge

Baxter, MN

 

Hosted by: Crow Wing County TRIAD

 

 

 

Other Triad Information & Links

 

NATI Triad Program Manual (National Association of Triads) https://www.sheriffs.org/sites/default/files/uploads/Triad/NATI%20Manual-2012.pdf        

 

National Triad

www.sheriffs.org/programs/national-Triad

 

TRIAD Newsletters:

2018, First Quarter Newsletter

‚Äč2018, Second Quarter Newsletter

 

Minutes:

March 2018